Pep talks for all 6 New Orleans Saints captains ahead of 2021 season

Demario Davis #56 of the New Orleans Saints (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)
Demario Davis #56 of the New Orleans Saints (Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images) /
1 of 4

The New Orleans Saints haven’t officially named their captains for the 2021 season but Nick Underhill tweeted on Wednesday that six players were selected as captains for what proves to be an interesting season in the Big Easy.

According to Underhill, the six captains are Terron Armstead, Demario Davis, J.T. Gray, Malcolm Jenkins, Cameron Jordan, and Jameis Winston. Armstead, Davis, Jenkins, and Jordan have been stars at their respective positions and aren’t the least bit surprising with their captain statuses.

Gray might not be a big name outside of New Orleans but he’s a top-notch presence on special teams. That’s why he was selected as a captain and he’ll have to live up to that when special teams take the field.

Winston might be entering his first year as a starter with the team but that’s not uncommon for a quarterback to be named captain. In fact, fans would have been worried had Winston not been named a captain by his teammates.

While it’s not official, this seems pretty likely that these six Saints are wearing the giant “C” on their jerseys when the season kicks off this Sunday.

With that in mind, let’s give a pep talk to each of these guys as they look to be the best possible captain they can be in 2021.