Saints legendary kicker Morten Andersen named Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist


Morten Andersen, legendary and former kicker for the New Orleans Saints, has been named a Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist for the Class of 2016.

When it comes to household names for kickers, Morten Andersen is right at the top of the list.  With a career stretching from 1982-2007 with five different teams, he was named to seven Pro Bowls, was a six-time All-Pro, and is a member of the NFL’s 1980’s and 1990’s All-Decade Teams.

Drafted by the New Orleans Saints out of Michigan State in the fourth round of the 1982 NFL Draft, the Denmark-born Morten Andersen, also known as “The Great Dane”, played in the Big Easy until 1994, making six of his seven Pro Bowls down on the bayou.

Morten Andersen holds numerous NFL career records such as field goals made (565), most points scored (2,544), and most games played (382), which is why he has been named a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2016.  He would become the third Saints player (Rickey Jackson, Willie Roaf) and just the fourth kicker (George Blanda, Lou Groza, John Stenerud) in NFL history.

This is the third year in a row Morten Andersen has been named a Hall of Fame finalist.  Third time’s the charm, perhaps?  He certainly has some competition, which includes first-ballot names like Brett Favre and Terrell Owens.  The annual selection meeting is February 6, and Andersen must receive at least 80% of the positive vote to be elected.

Full list of finalists courtesy of

"The 15 Modern-Era Finalists were determined by a vote of the Hall’s Selection Committee from a list of 108 nominees that earlier was reduced to 25 semifinalists, during the multi-step, year-long selection process.The 2016 Modern-Era Finalists with their positions, years and teams:Morten Andersen, Kicker — 1982-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-2000, 2006-07 Atlanta Falcons, 2001 New York Giants, 2002-03 Kansas City Chiefs, 2004 Minnesota VikingsSteve Atwater, Safety — 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York JetsDon Coryell, Coach — 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego ChargersTerrell Davis, Running Back — 1995-2001 Denver BroncosTony Dungy, Coach — 1996-2001 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2002-08 Indianapolis ColtsAlan Faneca, Guard — 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona CardinalsBrett Favre, Quarterback — 1991 Atlanta Falcons, 1992-2007 Green Bay Packers, 2008 New York Jets, 2009-2010 Minnesota VikingsKevin Greene, Linebacker/Defensive End — 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ersMarvin Harrison, Wide Receiver — 1996-2008 Indianapolis ColtsJoe Jacoby, Tackle — 1981-1993 Washington RedskinsEdgerrin James, Running Back — 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009Seattle SeahawksJohn Lynch, Free Safety — 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver BroncosTerrell Owens, Wide Receiver — 1996-2003 San Francisco 49ers, 2004-05 Philadelphia Eagles, 2006-08 Dallas Cowboys, 2009 Buffalo Bills, 2010 Cincinnati BengalsOrlando Pace, Tackle — 1997-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Chicago BearsKurt Warner, Quarterback — 1998-2003 St. Louis Rams, 2004 New York Giants, 2005-09 Arizona CardinalsThe 15 Modern-Era Finalists join three other finalists to comprise 18 finalists under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2016.Two Senior Finalists were announced in August 2015 by the Seniors Committee that reviews the qualifications of those players whose careers ended more than 25 years ago.Ken Stabler, Quarterback — 1970-1979 Oakland Raiders, 1980-1981 Houston Oilers, 1982-1984New Orleans SaintsDick Stanfel, Guard — 1952-55 Detroit Lions, 1956-58 Washington RedskinsA Contributor Finalist announced in September was selected by the Hall of Fame’s Contributor Committee that considers persons who made outstanding contributions to professional football other than players and coaches.Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner — 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers"

From all of us here at Who Dat Dish, we’d like to wish the best of luck to Saints Hall-of-Famer and Ring of Honor member Mr. Morten Andersen and all of the Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists for the Class of 2016.