5 New Orleans Saints coaches that need to be gone in 2016

2 of 6

Nov 8, 2015; New Orleans, LA, USA; New Orleans Saints punt returner Marcus Murphy and special teams coordinator Greg McMahon before a game against the Tennessee Titans at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Mandatory Credit: Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

Greg McMahon

With the exception of Thomas Morstead and Darren Sproles, the Saints special teams unit has been just gross for the past several years. I’d loosely mention Reggie Bush as another bright spot, but his role as a returner decreased tremendously after the 2008 season. Morstead has struggled this season with a quad injury, which has really affected the team’s coverage on kickoffs.

The return game has had struggles this season. After starting as bright spot in the return game, Marcus Murphy only saw the bench after ball security issues. He later landed on injured reserve.

McMahon is one of the coaches who has lingered around since 2006. Let’s just look at the kicking carousel that has existed for nearly a decade, and let that speak for itself.

  • 2006 – John Carney (42) / Billy Cundiff (26)
  • 2007 – Martin Gramatica (32) / Olindo Mare (34)
  • 2008 – Martin Gramatica (33) / Garrett Hartley (22) / Taylor Mehlhaff (23)
  • 2009 – John Carney (45) / Garrett Hartley (23)
  • 2010 – John Carney (46) / Garrett Hartley (24)
  • 2011 – John Kasay (42)
  • 2012 – Garrett Hartley (26)
  • 2013 – Garrett Hartley (27) / Shayne Graham (36)
  • 2014 – Shayne Graham (37)
  • 2015 – Zach Hocker (24) / Kai Forbath (28)

You can also bring up how the team chose poorly when they elected to go with Zach Hocker over Dustin Hopkins. With the Washington Redskins, Hopkins is 22-for-25 (all 32 extra points made), and has 42 of his 66 kickoffs as touchbacks. So, with a hobbled Morstead and the inability for Forbath to get his kicks into the endzone (38 kickoffs, 15 touchbacks), the Saints special teams unit has been exposed for its poor play.

We appreciate the 2009 Super Bowl Greg (Ambush), but your time is up. It has been since 2010.

Next: Wesley McGriff