Who Dat Dish
Saints News

New Orleans Saints to send at least two players to the 2012 Pro Bowl


The results are in and the votes have been tallied for the 2012 NFL Pro Bowl, and the New Orleans Saints will send at least two players to Hawaii.

Tight end Jimmy Graham was the leading voted getter at his position in the NFC. He received 725,612 votes after posting a season where he has so far caught 87 passes for 1,171 yards and nine touchdowns.

Graham was drafted in the third round last year after playing only one season of football at the University of Miami, transferring from the school’s basketball team.

He spent most of last season learning the game behind veteran tight end’s Jeremy Shockey and David Thomas. But Shockey would injure himself late in the season allowing Graham tp step into the starting lineup where he caught five touchdowns over the Saints last three games.

His emergence allowed the Saints to part ways with an oft injured Jeremy Shockey in the off-season. Graham was awarded the permanent starting role and he has yet to look back while emerging as one of the leagues best young talents.

Strong safety Roman Harper also topped his position in voting for the NFC, garnering 147,542 votes — not a surprise considering he leads the league in sacks for a safety with 7.5.

Harper has enjoyed tremendous success since Gregg Williams took over the defense in 2009 as he played his role as a blitzing, in the box style safety to perfection.

Since 2009 he has averaged 96 tackles and 4 sacks a season. He has earned a reputation in the league as one of it’s fiercest defenders, and according to some teams perhaps it’s dirtiest.

Quarterback Drew Brees received the third highest amount of votes – behind only Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers — at his position after netting nearly 1.2 million votes.

There where others Saints players that received a fair share of attentions too as center Brian De La Puente, full back Jed Collins, and guard Jahri Evans finished in the top five at their respective positions.