Who Dat Dish
Saints News

Drew Brees and Jimmy Graham at the top in NFL Pro Bowl voting


The New Orleans Saints are 8-3 and well on their way to another NFC South division title — as well as a third consecutive post season appearance — thanks in large part to quarterback Drew Brees and his favorite target in tight end Jimmy Graham.

Brees is currently on pace to shatter Dan Marino’s 1984 passing yardage record as he has thrown for nearly 3,700 yards through the Saints first eleven games — putting him on pace to finish with 5,360 — 276 more passing yards than Marino’s 5,084.

It’s a record that Brees nearly had in 2008 after coming tantalizingly close with 5,069 yards.

Brees has enjoyed tremendous success in 2011 thanks to the emergence of tight end Jimmy Graham, who has already caught 67 passes from him for 967 yards and eight touchdowns — tops among NFL tight ends for overall production.

For now it appears the sky is limit for the duo, who given enough time could shatter every record pertaining to a quarterback throwing to a tight end in the NFL.

A sneak preview of the 2012 Pro Bowl voting results were recently released, and while voting will continue until December 19th, both Brees and Graham are among the top vote getter’s for their respected positions.

Brees is second in total votes for NFC quarterbacks with 655,655 votes, which happens to be the sixth largest total among all NFL players currently on the ballot.

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers is the top NFC quarterback with 961,918 votes — leading all NFL players in balloting so far with three weeks remaining.

Graham is not in the top ten, but he does lead all NFC tight ends with 434,436 votes, not bad for the second year “rookie” that started the season in a co-starring role with veteran tight end David Thomas.

There are several other Saints that are having a decent showing — full back Jed Collins is third at his position, guard Jahri Evans is fourth, Roman Harper is second among safeties, Darren Sproles is fourth, and punter Thomas Morstead is fifth at his position.

To cast a vote please visit the official 2012 Pro Bowl Ballot page