“Not So Immaculate Reception” should bring NFL and officials back to negotiations quickly

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Although the replay clearly shows that Jennings caught the ball with two hands and tucked the ball into his chest, the play was reviewed and the Seahawks were awarded the touchdown.

The argument was brought up that Jennings and Tate had what is referred to as simultaneous catch.  In those cases the catch is awarded to the receiver in a “tie goes to the runner” like in baseball.  But after reading the rule carefully, Jennings should have been awarded the interception.

Rule 8 – Section 3 – Article 1 – Item 5: Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.

The scary question has been asked, “What if this had cost the Packers a playoff spot later on?”  An even scarier question is, “What if that was a playoff game or better yet the Super Bowl?”

With all reports before the game last night being that the regular officials and NFL still aren’t very close to a deal, last night should bring negotiations back on track.  If not, then the ugly truth is that the game of football that we’ve come to love will change forever and not for better.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Green Bay Packers Monday Night Football Seattle Seahawks