(Source boneheadblog.com)

New Orleans Saints Set Practice Squad

The New Orleans Saints have selected the members of their practice squad for the 2011-2012 season.

According to the official Twitter account of the Saints, the players for the practice squad will be:  LB Nate Bussey, QB Sean Canfield, TE Michael Higgins, CB Terrail Lambert, DT Swanson Miller, LS Kyle Nelson, C Cecil Newton, and WR Andy Tanner.

No surprise that Bussey, Canfield, and Miller were signed because all three have shown some progress in training camp this year. 

The only blemish against Canfield was the recent preseason game against the Tennessee Titans, but other than that he’s shown promise since last year.

Several surprises were Higgins and Nelson.  I never heard anything about Higgins in camp or preseason standing out, and thought TE Tyler Lorenzen might be re-signed. 

Nelson is a long snapper but reports are that the Saints have tried him at Tight End as well.

A player some thought might go to the practice squad was WR Joesph Morgan.  However, Morgan had surgery recently and was placed on Injured Reserve ending his season.  I think there’s more than meets the eye here though.

It’s a bold move by the Saints to hold onto him this way since he’s shown potential and it’s highly likely another team would have tried to claim him off waivers since his recovery from surgery is expected to be brief.

Like what you have read? Give Whodatdish.com props by liking us on facebook, become a follower on twitter, or grab our RSS feed. Prefer an application? Apple users can download WDD’s free app here, and Android lover’s can get the free app here.



Next Saints Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Oct 2626 Oct7:30Green Bay PackersBuy Tickets

Tags: Andy Tanner Cecil Newton Kyle Nelson Michael Higgins Nate Bussey New Orleans Saints Sean Canfield Swanson Miller Tennessee Titans Terrail Lambert

comments powered by Disqus